What to do after a hit and run in Louisiana

Having a car accident is never a good situation. However, even minor accidents can turn into a major headache if the driver at fault does not stop. Hit and run accidents are more common than you might think, which is one reason almost all states require auto insurance. If you’re driving in Louisiana, it’s important to know what to do after a hit-and-run accident and how being charged with a hit-and-run will impact your auto insurance premium.

hit and run in Louisiana

In Louisiana, a hit and run is defined as a collision where the driver responsible for an accident, or involved in an accident, does not stop to exchange personal and insurance information with the other driver. Hit and run accidents are not uncommon in Louisiana. In 2019, there was 17,860 hit and run accidents in Louisiana which caused property damage, 4,176 accidents resulting in injuries and 36 accidents resulting in at least one death.

Louisiana hit and run laws

Louisiana hit-and-run laws state that the driver at fault is fully responsible in a hit-and-run collision. The consequences of a hit and run in Louisiana can be serious.

A driver responsible for a hit and run that results in only property damage will be fined up to $ 500. They can also face up to six months in prison. If there are injuries or fatalities, the driver will be maximum fine of $ 5,000, and can face a prison sentence of up to 10 years with or without forced labor.

The impact of hit and run on auto insurance rates in Louisiana

Drivers who cause a hit and run in Louisiana and get caught will be subject to a higher insurance premium. After a hit and run, the average Louisiana driver pays $ 5,324 per year for full insurance, compared to $ 3,918 after a standard accident.

Louisiana is one of the most expensive states for auto insurance, regardless of your driving record. United States national average auto insurance premium of $ 1,674, that’s more than $ 1,000 less than the average rate in Louisiana, which is $ 2,724.

Average annual premiums for full coverage:

Before a hit and run After a hit and run After an ordinary accident
Louisiana average $ 2,724 $ 5,324 $ 3,918
national average $ 1,674 $ 3,367 $ 2,405

3 things to do after a hit and run in Louisiana

If you are in a hit and run crash, the first thing you should do is stop safely, even if the other driver does not stop. Assess the situation and make sure that you and your passengers are not injured. If anyone in the car needs medical attention, call 911. If there are no injuries, here’s what to do:

  1. Call the police: Even if your car is not seriously damaged, you should call the police immediately after a hit-and-run. It is illegal to leave the scene of an accident in Louisiana and the police will investigate whether it is a felony. The agent will ask you to remember all possible information about the vehicle and the driver that struck you. They will also write a police report that you can share with your insurance company.
  2. Take pictures of the damage to the vehicle: Before leaving the scene, take some photos of the damage to your vehicle. These will come in handy when you go to file an insurance claim. If you or any of your passengers need medical help, keep a record of the treatment received.
  3. File an insurance claim: Contact your insurance company and inform them of the hit-and-run. An agent will walk you through the claims process and explain what your policy will cover. Make sure you have the police report and photos of the damage ready to use to speed up the process.

Will the insurance cover a hit and run?

Yes, auto insurance will cover a hit and run if you have the right policy. If you have a minimum coverage policy, which only includes liability insurance, it won’t cover a hit and run.

However, if you have a full coverage policy, you will be covered in the event of a hit and run. Collision insurance will cover damage to your vehicle, and medical coverage will cover your medical costs, as well as the treatment of your passengers.

Louisiana does not require drivers to have uninsured / underinsured motorist coverage, but if you have this optional policy, it will also cover a hit and run. Drivers who leave the scene of an accident are considered uninsured drivers, so personal injury coverage in your policy will pay your medical bills and the property damage portion of your policy will cover repairs to your car.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does auto insurance cost in Louisiana?

Auto insurance in Louisiana tends to be expensive. Based on our sample quotes from Quadrant Information Services, the average cost of auto insurance in Louisiana is $ 2,724 per year for full coverage. However, keep in mind that each driver pays a slightly different rate based on factors such as age, credit rating, claims history, and driving record.

What is the best auto insurance company?

the best auto insurance company varies depending on a few factors. For example, the best auto insurance company for customer service might not be the best provider for cheap coverage. To find the best provider for you, shop around and compare insurers based on your personal criteria, then get quotes to see which one could offer you the lowest rate.

What auto insurance do you need in Louisiana?

Every driver in Louisiana is required to purchase a minimum amount of auto insurance. The minimum requirement is Liability insurance 15/30/25, which includes $ 15,000 in personal injury coverage per person, $ 30,000 in accidental bodily injury coverage and $ 25,000 in accidental property damage coverage.

Methodology

Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all zip codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, DC Rates shown are based on a 40 year old male and female driver with a clean driving record , good credit and the following comprehensive coverage limits:

  • $ 100,000 of civil liability for bodily injury per person
  • $ 300,000 liability for bodily injury per accident
  • Civil liability for property damage of $ 50,000 per accident
  • $ 100,000 in bodily injury caused by an uninsured motorist per person
  • $ 300,000 in uninsured bodily injury per accident to a motorist
  • $ 500 collision deductible
  • Global deductible of $ 500

To determine the minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets the requirements of each state. Our basic profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and cover 12,000 miles a year.

These are sample rates and should only be used for comparison purposes.

Incident: The rates were calculated by evaluating our basic profile with the following incidents applied: clean criminal record (basic), responsible accident, single speeding ticket, single conviction for driving while intoxicated and forfeiture of coverage.